Tracking Changes: Reviewing Earlier Versions
One of the great things about Quip is that all of your changes save as you make them (you won't see a Quip doc with “final-final-v17-okay-now-it's-finally-final” at the end of its name). Even better, older versions of your documents are never overwritten—they're all saved, and they're all ready for retrieval if you ever need to go back to them.
Viewing a Document's History
To see the whole history of a document, from the first words to the final edit, just go to the Document menu and select “Document History.”
On the left, you'll see timestamps for every previous version of the document, sorted by when they were edited and who made those edits. Click on any of the dated changes, to see what the document looked like at that time.
To make things easier, we've bundled big sets of revisions together under a single timestamp. You can look into any of them if you want to see the granular edits that compose it.
Restoring an Older Version of a Document
If you want to recover any of the previously existing material, you have a couple of options to use:
- Copy ’n’ paste. If you want to bring specific deleted passages back from the grave, you're free to manually copy and paste them from the old versions into your current version.
- A full restore. If you want to bring back an old version of a document in its entirely, click the Restore button.
Wait, Can I Undo a Restore?
In short, yes, you can undo a restored document version.
Here's the reason why: When you restore an old version of the document, you're not wiping out any history that happened between the current version and restored version—instead, you're actually creating a new version of the document. The version you had prior to restoration will become the second-most-recent version, and you can revert to it if need be.
Highlight & Comment
You can add a comment to a section of text in a document by selecting the chat bubble icon after highlighting the text in question. This will highlight the selected text and add a comment.
You can also place your cursor at the beginning of text, and use the corresponding comment icon to add text to the beginning of a new paragraph, bulleted list, or numbered list.
Comment Only (no highlight)
You can also add a comment to a line of text without highlighting it simply by clicking on the line of text, bulleted list, or numbered list, without highlighting any words, then selecting the chat button icon on the left side of the page.
Note: Quip only supports one comment per section. Examples of sections include : one spreadsheet cell, one checklist item, one entire paragraph. As a result, if you've already added a comment (chat bubble) to a paragraph, you can't add another chat bubble to a different section in that paragraph. You can however, continue to use the same chat bubble to add additional comments for yourself or colleagues.
Change Log: Pro Tips
Whenever a change is made to the document, it shows up in the conversation side bar . You can see who made the change, when they made it, and what device they used.
Changes are tracked differently:
- Text that has been deleted is highlighted in red with a line through the text.
- If a block of text contains both deletions and insertions, the inserted text is highlighted in green and underlined.
- If a block of text contains only insertions, the inserted text is underlined in green.
- When large sections of text have been removed, the text is grayed out.
If there have been multiple changes, there will be a stack in grey showing as "View Changes" within the conversation bar. Click on "View Changes" to reveal the full set of changes made by a person at a particular time.
FAQ: Can I approve changes to a document?
There's no way to approve changes made to a document. Quip is built to encourage collaboration, creating a space where everyone is on the same page, with access to the most up to date version!
Unsaved changes indicators
Today, we’ve improved your offline experience by adding unsaved changes indicators. If you’re creating, editing, commenting, or adding a message to a Quip document or spreadsheet you’ll see the indicator at the bottom of the document.
The Quip desktop app saves any changes you make locally so your work is always safe. When an internet connection is made, changes are synced to the server where they are available to your teammates. Once your changes have synced with the network, the indicator will disappear.
If you’re working offline, you’re likely working across a number of different documents and messages. Quip counts unsaved changes with an indicator in the sidebar. You can click the indicator to show which documents, spreadsheets, chat rooms, or 1:1 messages have unsaved changes.