There are three types of folders in Quip- Group Folders, Shared Folders and My Documents. This walks through how each work and what they are generally used for.
Group folders can only be created and managed by the Quip administrator. Most companies will create a Group Folder for each individual team or department (i.e. Marketing, Support, Engineering). If you are a Quip Admin click here to learn how to set them up.
Administrators can create and manage these folders. Upon creating your Quip site, your first Group folder was created using your domain to name it. This is where you can move docs that your entire organization needs access to, such as HR docs or a company wide chat channel.
Shared folders can be created and managed by anyone in Quip (yep, you!). Shared folders are simply a collection of documents or sub-folders shared with at least one other person.
You can create a Shared Folder by selecting the new item icon in the top right of your Quip window and then choosing “New Folder”. You will need to add new members to a shared folder manually. This allows you to share content with a select group, rather than an entire Quip site or an entire team. For example, a cross-functional events committee planning a team offsite could create a shared folder for all events related docs.
Each person in Quip has a private folder. The private folder is your dedicated space within Quip. Any documents you create there will be private to you until you explicitly add individuals to the document. Unlike other folders in Quip, you are the only member of this folder. Note: Even if you add more members to a document or folder in your Private folder, this document or folder will remain in your Private folder section of Quip.
When you delete a document in Quip, you will see this document in your Trash Folder. If you would like to delete content permanently from your Trash folder, please create a case via help.salesforce.com. Alternatively, Quip will automatically and permanently delete any content that is in your Trash Folder after 30 days.
For questions about creating cases via help.salesforce.com, read through: Help | Training | Salesforce.