This article is part 1 of a 3 part series:
Quip gives your team one place to share, organize, and search for all of your work. Work is organized into folders that give everyone easy access to their docs, spreadsheets, slides and chats. This makes it easier and faster to share docs with the right group (just move them to the correct folder!) and ensures your team is spending less time hunting down documents.
Overview of Folders
There are three levels of folders:
- Group Folders
- Shared Folders
- My Documents
To view all three levels go to the “Folders” section on the navigation panel.
Group folders can only be created and managed by the Quip administrator. Most companies will create a Group Folder for each individual team or department (i.e. Marketing, Support, Engineering). Keep reading to learn how to set these up!
Administrators can create, manage, and delete these folders. Upon creating your Quip site, your first Group folder was created using your domain to name it. This is where you can move docs that your entire organization needs access to, such as HR docs or a company wide chat channel.
Shared folders can be created and managed by anyone in Quip. Shared folders are simply a collection of documents or sub-folders shared with at least one other person.
You can create a Shared Folder by selecting the new item icon in the top right of your Quip window and then choosing “New Folder”. You will need to add new members to a shared folder manually. This allows you to share content with a select group, rather than an entire Quip site or an entire team. For example, a cross-functional events committee planning a team offsite could create a shared folder for all events related docs.
Each person in Quip has a private folder. The private folder is your dedicated space within Quip. Any documents you create there will be private to you until you explicitly add individuals to the document. Unlike other folders in Quip, you are the only member of this folder. Note: Even if you add more members to a document or folder in your Private folder, this document or folder will remain in your Private folder section of Quip.
When you delete a document in Quip, you will see this document in your Trash Folder. If you would like to delete content permanently from your Trash folder, please create a case via help.salesforce.com. Alternatively, Quip will automatically and permanently delete any content that is in your Trash Folder after 30 days.
Take a look at this great video for an overview of utilizing these folders.
Now that you understand folders, it's time to tackle The Optimal Quip Folder Setup.