Many hands make light work, as they say, and collaborating in Quip makes your work as light and fast as possible. Whether you're tracking a project, planning next year's budget, or just getting your team's lunch order, Quip has plenty of ways of getting the people you need in the documents you're working on.
Your work deserves to be seen. So share it. Here's how.
Prefer watching over reading? Take a look at this fine little video about sharing in Quip 👉
The basics of sharing
There are three different ways to share Quip content with other people, and all of them are available through the “Share” button at the top right corner of your document window.
From here, you can:
- Add individual people by selecting “Add People,” naturally.
- Add a group of people by moving the document to a shared folder. Anyone who belongs to a shared folder will have access to the documents in it.
- Get a sharable URL for your document by selecting “Get Link,” then sending that link to whoever you want to share it with.
Adding individual people
After selecting “Add People," you can:
- Type the name of anyone in your organization. It'll probably autocomplete after the first few characters, by the way.
- Click on the name of someone in your organization. We've listed the people you interact with most, just to save you some time.
- Type the email address of anyone at all, whether they're a part of your organization or not.
Anyone you add here will have full access to whatever it is you're sharing with them. They'll be able to read it, edit it, and comment on it.
Note that you can add people to a document in your Private folder without moving that document out of your Private folder. Yes, it's true, a document can be both private and shared at the same time. 🤯
Adding content to a shared folder
Select “Move to Shared Folder,” then select the shared folder you want to move your document to. The document will automatically be shared with everyone who belongs to that folder.
If you want to, you can share a document across multiple folders by selecting “Add to Other Folders” instead of “Move to Shared Folder.” Changes made anywhere will update the document everywhere.
By the way: If the folder belongs to 7 people or fewer, all of those people will be notified about the document you just added. If it belongs to more than 7 people, we'll skip the notification. (We've found that for larger groups, these notifications can be more cumbersome than helpful.)
Learn more about folders in Quip 👉
Getting a shareable link
If you're a copy-and-paster, you can share a document with other people by copying its URL and then pasting it to whoever you want. Just select “Get Link” in the Share menu.
Since a link can be passed around pretty easily once you've sent it out, Quip offers extra control over what people can and can't do with a document that they're arrived at through a URL:
- “View & Edit” means people can view and edit the document. 😉
- “View Only” means they can view the document, but not edit it.
- “Disable” means that the document can't be accessed using its URL. (This is the default setting for new documents, by the way.)
The “View Only” setting includes some additional controls over what a viewer actually gets to view:
- “Show conversation” allows viewers to see the conversation pane of your document
- “Show diffs” includes the edit history of your document in that conversation pane
- “Allow new messages” allows other Quip users to add to the document conversation (but not edit the document itself)
- “Allow comments” allows other Quip users to leave comments on the document's contents (but not to edit those contents)
- “Allow requests to edit” lets other Quip users ask permission to edit the document's contents.
In both the “View only” and “View & Edit” settings, you'll also see:
- “Allow access outside of whatever-your-domain-is.com,” which allows people who are outside of your organization to access the document you're sharing.
Keep in mind that “outside of your organization” means anyone outside your organization. If you send a URL to a customer, and that customer sends the URL to George Clooney, then George Clooney will be also able to read your document. So make sure you didn't put anything in there that you wouldn't want George Clooney to see.
Sharing with people outside of your organization
Collaboration isn't just about what happens on your team. That's why we've made it as easy to share with people outside of your company as it is to share within it. Here's how:
- From the “Share” menu, select “Add People,” then type in the email address of the person you want to share your work with.
- From the “Share” menu, select “Get Link,” then click “Copy” to copy the document's URL to your clipboard (and turn on sharing-by-URL in the process). Now you can send that URL to whoever you want, however you want.
When people from outside your organization have joined a document, you'll see a little badge next in your document's title bar indicating as much:
A little more about Link sharing with external users
If you allow edit access for people coming in through the URL:
- Visitors with Quip accounts will see a “Join” button at the top of the document. They'll need to click that if you want to make any edits. Once they join, they'll show up in the list of users with access to the document, under “Additional people.”
- Visitors without Quip accounts will only be able to view your document—not comment on it or edit its contents. They'll be prompted to sign up for Quip if they want to do either of those things. And heck, even if they don't want to do those either of those things, we'd love to have them here on Quip anyway. ☺️
How can I tell who a document is shared with?
Look at the “Share” button at the top of your document.
- See a number? That's the number of people who the document has been shared with
- Don't see a number? Then you're the only person with access to the document
If you want to know the specific people on any document, click the “Share” button for a complete list.
One more thing: If your document is shared with people outside of your organization, you'll see a little badge next in your document's title bar indicating as much.
Occasionally in Quip, you'll find yourself following a link to a document you don't have access to. Don't fret! If you want to request access, it's easy enough to do so. Just click the “Request Access” button that shows up when you try to visit the link.
Who gets notified about your request, you might wonder? Everyone who has access to the document. Keep that in mind if you're asking to see a document that might be shared with a large number of people.
Removing people from a document, spreadsheet, folder, or chat room
The best way to un-share something depends on how you shared it in the first place.
- If you added people to it individually, you can remove them by clicking on the “Share” button, then selecting “Manage Access...,” then selecting “Remove People.” Click on the folks you want to remove.
- If you added people by it into a shared folder, you can either move it out of that shared folder, or you can remove people from the folder itself.
- To move it to a different folder, click on the “Share” button, then select “Manage Access...,” then select “Move to Another Folder.” You can either move it to a different shared folder to share it with a different set of people, or you can move it to a private folder to unshare it with everyone.
- To remove people from the folder itself, go to that folder, click on the “Share” button, then select “Manage Access...,” then select “Remove People.” The people you remove will lose access to everything in that folder, so make sure there's nothing in there they need.
- A mind-blowing detail: If you added people to a document individually in addition to adding people via a shared folder, moving that document back to a private folder will only remove the latter group. The people you added individually will still have access to the document.
- If you added people by sharing a URL with them, you can reduce the level of access people have through that URL, or you can disable that URL entirely.
- Important: Disabling links won't affect people who followed the URL and then joined as collaborators. Once they've added themselves to your content, you'll need to remove them individually by clicking on the “Share” button, then selecting “Manage Access...,” then selecting “Remove People.”
Basically, when it doubt, go to the “Manage Access...” panel. There's plenty of tools there for getting people off your docs.
If you want make sure none of you collaborators “accidentally” edits a document, you can freeze it in its current state by selecting “Lock Edits” under “Advanced” in the Document menu. Other people can unlock it if they need to, but you'll be notified if they do.
Note that locking edits applies to the whole document—there's no way to only lock certain parts of it.