How do I integrate Jira and Quip?

Context is crucial to getting a project done right. The Jira Live App for Quip put's Jira's powerful project management and tracking tools in the context that matters most—right in the documents where your team is already collaborating.

With the Jira Live App, you can:

  • View and update any Jira project, in real time, from within any Quip document.
  • Use filters to show only the information you want to see. Keep your team focused on the stuff that matters.
  • Combine the Jira Live App with other Quip Live Apps to build dynamic project plans in your Quip docs.
  • Keep all your work in one window. No more toggling between tabs.

It's great. And here's everything you know need to know to get it up and running.

First, get Jira ready for Quip

Before you can bring Jira into your Quip docs, you need to have a Jira administrator (maybe that's you) enable an application link to Quip. Just steer them toward this helpful link:

Using Jira AppLinks to link to other applications

Depending on how your company has Jira set up, you may also need to whitelist your Quip's site's URL in Jira's system.

Whitelisting your Quip URL in Jira

Next, connect Quip to Jira

The first time you add the Jira Live App to a Quip document, you'll be prompted to connect the two services.

You can insert a Live App in one of three ways:

  1. Type @ and then start typing the name of the app. It should autocomplete pretty quickly. Hit enter to insert it.
  2. On a new line in any Quip document, click the underlined “insert” link.
  3. Use the “Insert” button at the top of your Quip document.

Once you've got the Jira App in your document, you'll see a big, conspicuous button asking you to connect to Jira:

connect_to_jira-1.png

Click it, then type the address of your Jira site into the dialog that pops up:

connect_to_jira-2.png

Next, you'll be prompted to log into your Atlassian account. (If you're already logged in, you probably won't be asked).

atlassian_login.png

Finally, you'll be asked to give Quip permission to access your Jira account, so that it can pull issues into your Quip docs. Click “Allow” to allow it.

permission.png

And with that, you're all done setting things up. Now you can freely work on your Jira stuff from the cozy confines of your Quip docs.

Using the Jira Live App

Embedding Jira issues in Quip

First, insert the Jira Live App into a Quip doc. There are three easy ways to do so:

  1. Type @ and then start typing “Jira.”
  2. On a new line in any Quip document, click the underlined “insert” link, then choose the Jira Live App.
  3. Use the “Insert” button at the top of your Quip document, then choose the Jira Live App.

Once the app is embedded, you can select which issues you want it to show either by searching for them directly, or by browsing through the various filters on the left.

issue-1.pngissue-2.png

You can either select individual issues, or you can embed all of the issues in any given filter by clicking on the “Select Live Filter” button.

Once you've pulled some issues into a Quip doc through the Jira Live App, you'll see plenty of options for customizing things in the app's menu (you'll see it at the top right of the app whenever you've got it selected). You can:

  • Add columns to show more issue fields
  • Open issues in Jira
  • Select other issues to view
  • Refresh the Jira data
  • Log out
  • Delete the Live App from your doc 😢

Adding and removing columns

To choose which fields from an issue you want to display over here in Quip, select “Add Column” from the Jira menu, then use the popover to check off the columns you want to see (and uncheck the columns you don't).

add_column-1.png     add_column-2.png

To hide columns, click on the arrow next to any column head, then select “Delete Column.” (This doesn't actually delete the data, of course. It just removes it from this view. If you want the column back, just follow the instructions above to add it again.)

delete_column.png

Syncing your updates

When you edit a field in the Jira Live App, you'll see a little green button show up next to your edit. This means that your changes are currently in draft mode, and haven't been synced back over to Jira yet.

sync-1.png

Click on that button to see your syncing options...

sync-2.png

When you're ready to save and sync your changes, you can either:

  • Sync individual changes by clicking on the green button, then selecting “Save to Jira.”
  • Sync all the changes you've made by clicking the “Save to Jira” button next to the main Jira menu.

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful