Managing your members in the Admin Console

This article covers where to find the Admin Console and how to manage your Quip members, including adding and disabling members, merging accounts and granting admin privileges. 

Getting to the admin console

This is where you'll be doing most of your administrative stuff. You can get to the admin console through your account menu:

Click your picture in the bottom left> Manage Site and Apps> Admin Console
mceclip0.png

All Quip Enterprise sites have admin consoles, however, capabilities are limited by user type. Personal Quip sites (created using a personal email address) do not, and the administrative functions you can perform are limited accordingly.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Managing your members

mceclip1.png

You can get an overview of your site's member list, and perform most member-related tasks, in the Site Members tab of the admin console. 

mceclip0.png

Within that tab, you can filter the list by member type {outlined below}.

  • Enabled members: All active, billable members of your site. Doesn't include provisioned members or bots.
  • Admins: Members with administrative privileges on your site. That includes you.
  • Provisioned members: Members who've been added to the site through the admin console (more on that below), but have yet to sign in.
  • Pending members: Members who've signed up for your site, but have yet to verify their email addresses through the verification email we send to new members.
  • Deactivated members: Ex-members of your site who have been deactivated by you or another admin.
  • Bots: Admin-created bots with access to the documents and chats in your default group folder, but nothing else on your site. You can create as many bots as you like for free.
  • All members: All of the above in one big table.

Adding new members

To add people to your Quip site-

Go to the Site Members tab> Click the “Provision User” button at the top right

mceclip4.png

From here, you can add members by either:

  • adding their names and email addresses manually,
  • uploading a CSV file that includes name and email pairs, one pair per row, 
  • or provisioning everyone from your Salesforce org.

When your provisioned user logs in for the first time, their account will be enabled and added to your bill. (Until then, of course, they cost nothing.)

You can also invite people to your Quip site
without using the admin console, directly from your main Quip window.

  • Head to your account menu.
  • Select “Add Members...”
  • Type in the email address of whoever you want to add.

The main difference between these two methods is that members who are provisioned through the admin console can be @mentioned in documents and chats, even before they log in.

Viewing and editing information about a member

Click on a member's name in the admin console to view and edit their profile, which includes all of the following things about them:

  • Name
  • Email address (or addresses, if they have more than one)
  • Date they joined your site
  • Member status—active, provisioned, etc.
  • Role—member, admin, or bot
  • Which admin-created group folders they belong to
  • Which member-created shared folders they belong to
  • Which mobile devices they've installed Quip on

To change a member's name or email address from their profile click “Edit User” in the top right.

To log someone out click the down arrow in the top right> log out.

Disabling a member's account

Even at a great business like yours, people come and people go. Here's how to deactivate their Quip login when they leave:

  • Go to the Site Members tab of your admin console.
  • Find the member you want to deactivate, and click on the menu at the far right of their listing.

mceclip7.png

Want to re-enable a member's account? Sort Site Members by “Deactivated” on the Site Members tab, then enable whoever it is you want bring back.

Say, what happens to a member's content when their account is disabled? If it's been shared with other members, those other members will still have access to it. If it hasn't been shared, it still exists, but it won't be accessible. If you need any help dealing with the contents of a disabled account, contact
support@quip.com.

Merging two member accounts

Maybe one of your members managed to sign up twice. Maybe two of your employees have fused into a single being. Whatever the reason, if you need to merge the contents of two accounts, you can do so in the admin console.

mceclip9.png

  • In the Site Members tab, open the menu next to the “Look up Member” button. Choose “Merge Accounts.”
  • Read the warnings about how this process is irreversible, and you should be very careful before proceeding.
  • If you decide to proceed, click the “Continue to Merge Accounts” button.
  • Type in the email addresses of the two accounts you want to merge. The contents of the first account will be merged into the second account.
  • You'll be asked to confirm once more that you really want to this. If you're sure you are, go ahead.

Once the merge begins, it may take up to five hours to complete.

After the merge:

  • The first member you listed in the merge process will no longer be a part of your organization.
  • The second member you listed will have access to all the content of the first member.

Additionally, The first member's email address will added to the second member's profile. The second member can choose to have notifications sent to that new email address instead of (or in addition to) their original email address, if they like.

You can merge a disabled account into an active account. You cannot, however, merge two disabled accounts. Just so you know.

If you need to have an email address removed entirely from the remaining member's profile, contact
support@quip.com.

Promoting a member to an admin

Need a helping hand with this administrative stuff? Promote someone to an admin!

  • Go to the “Site Members” tab of the admin console.
  • Find the row with the name of the user you want to promote. Click on the menu at the far right.
  • Select “Make Admin.”

Being an admin is pretty powerful stuff, so dole out that power carefully. Note that admins can demote each other to non-admin status. This means that you can un-admin any admin, but that admin can also un-admin you. Basically: make sure you trust your deputies, pardner. 🤠

You can follow the same process to demote admins back to regular members. Just choose “Remove as Admin” at the end.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful