Placing a legal hold on your site prevents any of its content or data from being permanently deleted. Nothing changes on the members' end—they'll still be able to make edits, move documents to the trash, and change their personal information during a legal hold. Admins, however, will retain access to any deleted content until the hold is disabled.
To initiate or disable a legal hold, go to the Admin Console> Settings> Site Settings. Toggle on Legal Hold to enable a legal hold and toggle off to disable. Once you've disabled the hold, any user-deleted content may be permanently removed from your site. This feature is only available for enterprise accounts.