Restricting External Sharing (enterprise only)

Quip makes it easy to balance security with collaboration to meet your organization's particular needs. You can prevent all external sharing if you need to, or you can limit sharing to a trusted allowlist of users and domains. Note: this feature is only available to enterprise customers

You can control your sharing setup from the Admin Console> Settings > Sharing tab.

  • Restrict External Sharing: Turn this on to prevent any of your company's content from being shared externally. Your users won't be able to share any documents or folders directly with people outside your site. They also won't be able to create publicly shared links or add any documents or folders to shared folders that are owned by other companies.
  • External User and Domain Allowlist. After you've turned on Restrict External Sharing, you'll have the option to create an allowlist of users or organizations that your site's members can freely share with, despite the restriction. You can add an entire domain if there's an organization you work with closely, or add individual people by entering their email addresses. Your site's members will be able to share with anyone on the allowlist, but sharing with any external users not on that list will still be prevented. The users on the allowlist won't be able to share your content with anyone.

blobid0.png

When Restricted External Sharing is on, your site's members will be alerted any time they try to share with someone they're not allowed to share with. You have the option to add a link to that warning, if you want to. It can lead to support documentation, a pre-filled ticket to request someone be added to the allowlist, or whatever makes sense for your company.

Turning on Restrict External Sharing won't change anything for content that's already been shared with external users. Anyone who's already shared on your company's documents and folders will still be shared on those documents. Going forward, however, sharing any additional content with those same users will require them to be on the allowlist.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful