Why is Quip asking for permission to manage my contacts?

When you sign up for Quip with a Google email domain (Gmail or Google Apps), when you download our app on Android, or when you go to share a document on iPhone or iPad, Quip will ask for permission to access or manage your contacts. 

We do this because we want to make it easy for you to share with contacts in your address book and to find people you already know who are using Quip. 

To facilitate this, we do a one-time import of your contacts. Quip doesn't send anything automatically to your contacts on your behalf, and we don't keep any of the data from your Gmail contacts list.

If you have any additional concerns or questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to support@quip.com

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 5 found this helpful